This month, we explore the history of the Lyons building at 594 Broadway, home of the SoHo Broadway Initiative’s office. The building was completed in 1898 and designed by Buchman & Deisler architects. Formerly named after its original owner, Jeremiah C. Lyons, 594 Broadway is a towering landmark at the norther gateway of the SoHo Broadway district today.
In August 1973, 594 Broadway was included in the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District designated by New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, protecting this notable building for posterity.
594 Broadway features a limestone facade and stands 12 stories tall. Its original function was a department store. In more recent decades tenants have included The Alternative Museum (1991 to 2000) as well as the Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art 2001 to 2012).
Today, 594 Broadway is home to beautiful, loft-style office spaces housing a range of businesses and organizations, from technology and media companies to professional services to non-profit organizations (including the SoHo Broadway Initiative). The office spaces are characterized by their high ceilings, exposed brick, architectural columns, and large windows.