Connect With Us Soho Broadway.

Sign up for our newsletter to receive helpful updates, latest news and events in the SoHo Broadway community.

We are

SoHo Broadway Initiative 9th Annual Meeting Wrap-Up

SoHo Broadway Events: Year in Review and Year Ahead

On Wednesday, November 15th, 2023, the SoHo Broadway Initiative held its 9th Annual Meeting via Zoom for the fourth year in a row, reflecting on the past year of activities, accomplishments, and challenges. SoHo Broadway Board Officers and staff offered remarks and gave updates, and voting was once again conducted via an online link.

Following a welcome from Acting Executive Director Brandon Zwagerman, Board President James Cavello began the meeting with opening remarks. Deputy Manhattan Borough President Keisha Sutton-James also offered an update from their office. Secretary Sharon Ermilio conducted items to be voted on. The November 15, 2022 Annual Meeting minutes and Board Election slates for all classes were approved by registered membership. The Initiative congratulates new Directors Cheryl Klauss and Jed Root on their elections, and Arif Shah, Warren Leshen, Neith Stone, Jason Vacker, Michelle Choi, Anders Holst, Susan Shoemaker, Ronnie Wolf, Greg Kraut, Jeannette Rodriguez, and Pete Davies on their re-elections, as well as elected alternates!

Brandon followed with a finance report presented on behalf of Treasurer Richard Benenson. He proceeded with a review of the Initiative’s activities in sanitation, beautification, quality of life, public safety, community development, and planning and advocacy over the past year and going forward. The FY 2023 Year-in-Review can be downloaded here. The evening ended with a Q&A session, followed by closing remarks by Vice President Michelle Choi.

We extend a special acknowledgment to our outgoing officers and Board members for their years of service to the community: Founding Treasurer Richard Benenson who stepped down from his officer role but remaining on the Board; and Michele Varian and Maria Feliciano, both of whom stepped down from the Board of Directors. These individuals’ leadership and hours of service has been invaluable to the ongoing success of the organization over the years.

The draft 9th Annual Meeting Minutes can be accessed here. Meeting presentation slides including Annual Report can be viewed here.

Our fourth online Annual Meeting was a success: over 40 members and guests were in attendance. We hope to see everyone again at our 10th Annual meeting in 2024!

Immediately following the Annual Meeting, the Initiative’s Board of Directors met to elect new officers. James Cavello was re-elected as President, Michelle Choi as Vice President, Sharon Ermilio as Secretary, and that Arif Shah was elected to replace Richard Benenson as Treasurer. Congratulations to this group of continuing and new leaders who we thank for stepping up to serve the organization in these important roles.

Back to List