

SoHo Broadway District Management Association, Inc. 1st Annual Meeting - June 24th, 2015 Minutes

Pursuant to a written notice, the membership and guests of the SoHo Broadway District Management Association, Inc. (dba SoHo Broadway Initiative) assembled on Wednesday, June 24<sup>,</sup> 2015 at Scholastic, 557 Broadway, New York, NY 10012 at 7:00 pm for the 1<sup>st</sup> Annual Meeting.

Present at the meeting were the following members, guests and staff of the SoHo Broadway Initiative: John Barton, Leigh Behnke, Richard Benenson, Edgar Bo, Gale Brewer, Andrew Brown, Dan Campeanelli, James Cavello, Wellington Chen, Margaret Chin, Peter Darrell, Peter Davies, Alicia Edwards-Sibley, Sharon Ermilio, Millie Falcaro, Paul Farr, Leslie Farr, Kit Fine, Katie Garrett, Kris Goddard, Albert Hazout, Emily Hellstrom, Anders Holst, Yume Kitasei, Cheryl Kl, Jen Lee, Richard Lehrer, Joan Lemler, Lee Leshen, Lance Marsh, James Martin, Renée Monrose, Danielle Nazinitsky, Susan Numeroff, Jane Ormerod, John Pasquale, Richard Pierpoint, Natalie Raben, Amer Radomcic, Lauren Rennee, John Rockwell, Phyllis Rosenblatt, Timothy Rosser, Patricia Seidman, Robert Seidman, Harold Sherr, Susan Shoemaker, Tiffany Singh, Lucille Songhai, Brian Steinwurtzel, Alain Suissa, Harvey Vedder, Oliver Vega, Donna Vogel, JD Walsh, Susan Wittenburg, Ronnie Wolf, Antony Wong

With a quorum of the Membership present, the meeting was called to order at 7:00pm.

Emily Hellstrom, Vice President and Brian Steinwurtzel, President thanked the guests for attending the meeting and opened the meeting.

Richard Benenson, Treasurer reported on the Initiative's financial activity for the year including an overview of the FY 2016 budget (July 2015 to June 2016), expected surplus of \$125,000 from FY 2015 (July 2014 to June 2015) and Board adoption of Financial Policies and Procedures.

John Barton, Chief Operating Officer of Dean & DeLuca addressed the audience where he discussed Dean & DeLuca's relationship with the SoHo community, its expansion into its location at 560 Broadway and plans to upgrade the SoHo location.

James Cavello, Board member and Chair of the Outreach and Communications Committee reported on the Committee's activity for the year including naming the organization the SoHo Broadway Initiative and presented the SoHo Broadway Initiative's new visual identity with Mucca (branding firm).

Pete Davies, Board member and member of the Program Services Committee reported on the development of the Initiative's public safety agenda for the SoHo Broadway corridor, Initiative's plans to map the vendable space within the district, plan for an Initial Conditions Report and efforts to develop relationships with City partners who will lead the efforts to address illegal sidewalk use.

Lance Marsh, ACE's SoHo Broadway Clean Team Supervisor reported on the launch of the Initiative's Supplemental Sanitation program on November 17, 2014, day to day services and stats through June 14, 2015 (Hours: 7,848, Bags removed: 20,729 and Graffiti Incidents removed: 1,962).

Mark Dicus, Executive Director reported on the first year of the Initiative's operation including setting up the office, registering new members, working with the Interim Board to adopt policies and procedures, plans for a Curb Vending regulation map, and launch of Supplemental Sanitation services. Mr. Dicus discussed the Initiative's plan to begin to focus on sidewalk congestion and illegal sidewalk use in year 2. Mr. Dicus answered questions from the audience related to the Curb Vending regulation map, vending laws and plans to address sidewalk congestion.

Paul Farr, Secretary, presented the slate of Directors to be voted on by the Membership. Each class of membership unanimously elected the following directors:

Class A-1 (Owner of commercial/mixed use rental/hotel/vacant real property in the District - 7 seats)

Richard Benenson, Returning Board Member, Class of 2018

Kevin Colton, New Board Member, Class of 2018

Cory Elbaum, New Board Member Board Member, Class of 2018

Jared Epstein, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

Warren Leshen, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

Richard Pierpoint, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

Brian Steinwurtzel, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019 (Alternate: Donna Vogel)

Class A-2 (Owner of residential real property including a residential condominium unit or a cooperative corporation owning residential real property in the District – 7 seats)

Andrew Brown, Returning Board Member, Class of 2018

Paul Farr, Returning Board Member, Class of 2018

Emily Hellstrom, Returning Board Member, Class of 2018 (Alternate: JD Walsh)

Richard Lehrer, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

Mary Rolland, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

Katy Rice, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019 (Alternate: Anders Holst)

Ronnie Wolf, New Board Member Board Member, Class of 2019

Class C (Commercial tenant – 3 seats)

James Cavello, Returning Board Member, Class of 2018 (Alternate: Margarite Almeida)

Lee Leshen, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

John Pasquale, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

Class D (Residential tenant, including shareholders residential cooperative corporations – 3 seats)

Corinne Colen, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019 (Alternate: Jane Ormerond)

Peter Davies, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

it Fine, Returning Board Member, Class of 2019

Class E (Interested Party-Non-Voting)

Susan Wittenberg, Community Board 2, Returning Board Member

Following the election of the Directors, the meeting was closed at approximately 8:30pm.